$2,380 Western Open

Lake Charles, LA (Petro Point Dr)

May 4, 2008

Greg Ward Captures Western Open Title

Greg Ward, of Loganville, Georgia, shot 24-under par for the final 36 holes of the Professional Putters Association's 2008 Western Open Sunday afternoon in Lake Charles, Louisiana. Ward shot a 42-under par, 102, for four rounds and finished first in a field of 26 professionals from all over the country in the first PPA National event of the season. Mike Baldoza of Austin, Texas, finished one stroke behind Ward for 2nd place. Both Ward and Baldoza are members of the PPA Hall of Fame.

Course 1

Place Player 1 2 3 4 Total Cash
1Greg Ward27272424102$ 500.00
2Mike Baldoza31222624103$ 400.00
3Jeff Carr26252924104$ 276.67
Jay Klapper27242528104$ 276.67
Cliff Matthews26282624104$ 276.67
6Dennis Biesma26272527105$ 150.00
Don Parker26252727105$ 150.00
Ricky Schults24252828105$ 150.00
9Jeffrey Smith27282823106$ 110.00
10Brad Lebo23332526107$ 45.00
Wade Sahmel27262727107$ 45.00
12Greg Newport31252725108
13David McCollister25302628109
Randy Reeves28272925109
15Rick Rybaczek28302626110
16Rick Baird27272631111
Brice Bergesen30272628111
Charles Cox31262628111
Byron Kirby31253025111
20John Bambling29282728112
21Randy Orr31252631113
22Tony Varnadore34273025116
23Danny Tatum31263129117
24Tom Robertson27332733120
25Greg Simpson32303232126
26Lee Messinger32363131130

In the APA division, 2007 APA National Champion Nathan Anderson also posted a one stroke victory shooting 110, 34 under par. In second were Jack Ramsey and Adam Sahmel at 111 with Alan Sahmel at 112 rounding out the top four in the amateur division.

Course 1

Place Player 1 2 3 4 Total Cash
1Nathan Anderson31262627110$ 40.00
2Jack Ramsey28292826111$ 40.00
Adam Sahmel24282930111$ 40.00
4Alan Sahmel30282529112$ 40.00
5Mickey DeLucca27282929113
6Mike Huckaby28273128114
Trevor Lewin30322824114
8Bill Combs29313229121
9Steve Berglund35293329126
10Ken Stanfill33313334131
11Barb Mingo36343032132
Paul Logue30333435132
13Robert Martin41283034133

Article provided by Rick Rybaczek and Gary Reed.